Teams using Trello must maintain organization with numerous teammates in various time zones. Archiving outdated cards, boards, or lists that must still be available but are not necessary for everyday work is a wonderful method to add visual clarity. 

However, as things change quickly, objects frequently need to be unarchived. The ability to archive and unarchive items in Trello is crucial for team communication. It’s important to remember that deleted items are permanently removed but archived items can still be viewed.

Any collaborative boards that have numerous contributors must have a backup and recovery tool. Errors are more likely to occur when there are several cooks in a (virtual) kitchen. An irritating waste of time is browsing endlessly through archived content. You can simply go back in time using Backups for Trello and restore your board to as it was at a certain period and date.

We’ll start by learning how to archive in Trello before delving into a few different unarchiving techniques.

Trello archiving

Boards, lists, and cards can be archived in order to hide them from view without completely erasing them. Users of Trello have the option to archive lists or cards that are no longer in use but may one day need to be referred to.

Boards on Trello can be archived as well. Trello uses the term “close” to describe boards that are no longer viewable but have not yet been removed. Technically speaking, you can’t archive your board, but you can close it, which accomplishes the same task.

Trello: Archiving vs. Deleting

The primary distinction between deleting and archiving in Trello is that removed items are permanently lost. Although they are hidden from view from your main dashboard, archived articles can still be searched for and retrieved. When you archive cards, it’s like putting them in a closet; when you delete them, it’s like throwing them away forever.

Benefits of Trello Archiving

Let’s face it: among the most enjoyable spring cleaning tasks is archiving in Trello. As there are no outdated cards clogging up your dashboard, a tidy and structured Trello instance can assist you in staying focused and on track. Trello’s card archiving feature, however, does more than merely increase productivity; it also speeds up the operation of large boards.

Open (Archived) Boards Access

Go to the “Boards” button on the Trello homepage and select “View all closed boards” to recover an archived board. A list of all the boards you’ve archived will be displayed.

Delete Closed (Archived) Boards: A Guide

Go to the “Boards” button on the Trello homepage and select “View all closed boards” to recover an archived board. A list of all the boards you’ve archived will be displayed. Recently closed boards can only be opened by Board Admins. Click “Re-open” to bring a board back.

Making use of Archived Cards

Visit the board where the card was previously posted and select “Show Menu” in the upper right corner to view any archived cards. After that, select “More” and then “Archived Items.” Every card you’ve archived on that board will be listed for you to see.

Trello Card Unarchiving Instructions

Go to the Trello board where the card was previously stored and select “Show Menu” in the top right corner of the board to unarchive the card. After that, select “More” and then “Archived Items.” Every card you’ve archived on that board is visible there. Simply select “Send to board” in order to restore a card.

Getting to Archive Lists

Visit the board that formerly hosted the list and select “Show Menu” in the upper right corner to view any archived lists. After that, select “More” and then “Archived Items.” When you finally select “Switch to lists,” all of the lists you’ve archived on that board will appear.

How to Remove a Trello List from Archive

Go to the board where the Trello list was previously archived and select “Show Menu” in the top right corner of the board to do so. After that, select “More” and then “Archived Items.” When you finally select “Switch to lists,” all of the lists you’ve archived on that board will appear. You only need to click “Send to board” to restore a list.

Getting rid of Archives

A list or card may occasionally merely need to be deleted without being archived. You are heard. About deleting boards, cards, and lists in Trello, we created a lengthy blog entry.

Backup Shortcuts

You’ll be glad to know that there is a shortcut available for archiving cards if you really want to flex your archive muscles. Press “c” when your mouse is above a card you want to archive.

How long are items preserved in Trello’s archives?

Closed boards, Archived cards, and Lists are all permanently saved. Items that are archived won’t be removed unless one of your team members does so for as long as you desire.

Conclusion

Trello allows for the undoing of deletions, but not for archiving. What would your company do if the Trello data disappeared? Unfortunately, Trello problems might occur and data loss occasionally occurs. You, the user, are ultimately in charge of protecting the data on your lists, cards, and boards.

A full backup of your Trello data acts as a safety net: if something goes wrong and an archived item is lost or mistakenly deleted, a backup can quickly restore it. To ensure your security, Rewind Backups for Trello automatically backs up your boards, cards, and lists each day. Backups for Trello can quickly restore a deleted or lost item if you can’t unarchive (or find) it.

If you are interested in articles like this, here is one about the price of Trello business class.

Author

  • Senior Reviews Editor Previously worked as a technical writer for tech organizations, Victor is an Information Security adviser who mainly reviews all the contributions and contents published on our website.